A+ CONTENT (Formerly EBC) This is the extra branded content that shows below your listing, if you're enrolled in Brand Registry. This feature allows you to include additional imagery, videos, and more detailed product descriptions.
A-TO-Z GUARANTEE This is Amazon's return policy. If any product doesn't arrive within 3 days after the maximum estimated delivery date, or arrives but isn't as described, or has been returned by the customer using tracked shipping but no refund has been issued by the Seller, the customer can request a refund (up to 90 days after delivery date) using this Amazon service.
ACOS (AVERAGE COST OF SALE) This tells you how much your ad spend is per sale achieved through advertising. It can be worked out per keyword and per campaign. It is calculated like this: Ad Spend ÷ Ad Sales. For example, if you spent $10 on advertising and it resulted in $40 of sales, your ACOS would be 100*10/40 = 25%.
AD IMPRESSIONS Each time your ad is displayed, it counts as an impression. This could be seen on the search results page or at the bottom of another product listing.
AMAZON BUSINESS This is a program that Sellers can enroll in, that offers some benefits for business customers. It includes automatic VAT invoicing, VAT-exclusive pricing displays for business customers, and more.
AMAZON’S CHOICE If you have high product reviews and conversion rates, you might be given this badge by Amazon. This can really increase your sales.
ASIN This is the 10 digit identifier that Amazon gives each individual product to distinguish them (e.g. B1A2B3C4D5).
BEST SELLER RANKING (BSR) Amazon works this out using current and historical sales for each product. It is constantly updated, so can change rapidly. You need to track this over time to get an clear picture of product performance.
BRAND REGISTRY The Brand Registry program is a great system that any brand with a trademark can apply for. It is Amazon's way of protecting your brand and products from counterfeiters and fraud, but it also gives you access to certain important features like Product Display Ads and A+ content.
BUY BOX The Buy Box is the section on each listing that includes the large “Add to Cart” and “Buy Now” buttons. If other sellers are selling the same product as yours, it is crucial you capture the Buy Box, to make sure customers buy from you.
FULFILLMENT BY AMAZON (FBA) This is when Amazon takes responsibility for delivery of your product. You ship your products to the Amazon warehouse and they pack and ship your product to fulfill every order you receive.
FULFILLMENT BY MERCHANT (FBM) This is the opposite of FBA. You take responsibility for shipping all orders that are made through Amazon. This means you have to deal with any customer complaints related to delivery.
LIGHTNING DEALS Amazon runs these customer deals for a limited time. Sellers determine the discount and length it will run for.
LONG TAIL KEYWORD This describes a keyword phrase that includes two or more words. They help target niche demographic groups instead of very broad audiences.
MARKETPLACE Some people use this word to refer to Amazon as a whole, but it also refers to the individual regions where Amazon sells (e.g., “French Marketplace,” “Canadian Marketplace”).
NEGATIVE KEYWORDS These aren't necessarily bad - they are simply the keywords that you don't want to direct to your ad, because it wouldn't be relevant. For example, if you want to sell a (hair) comb with particularly fine teeth, you might add “toothbrush” as a negative keyword. While the keyword might sound like it would relate to your product, you actually wouldn't want your product to come up as a result of that search.
ORGANIC SALE This a sale achieved without direct input from advertising. Sales are achieved either through PPC or organically, though effective PPC can indirectly improve organic sales too.
PAY-PER-CLICK (PPC) This key phrase describes the Amazon Advertising method. Each time someone clicks your Sponsored Product, Sponsored Brand, or Product Display ad, you are charged for it.
PIGGYBACKING If you aren't enrolled in Brand Registry, Amazon treats all content as shared. This means Amazon will collate what it views as the best content from all Sellers of the same product, resulting in multiple Sellers operating under the same listing (piggybacking).
PRIME Products with the Prime badge offer customers certain shipping benefits, and can sell up to 40% more. You can get Prime by either sending your products into Amazon Fulfilment Centres (FBA) or via Seller Fulfilled Prime as long as the warehouse can dispatch same-day.
PRIVATE LABEL A Private Label brand sells its products under its own brand name and works directly with manufacturers to produce its products.
PRODUCT DISPLAY ADS These ads are only available to those enrolled in Brand Registry. They appear at the top, on the sides, and at the bottom of search results pages.
PRODUCT VARIATION (PARENT-CHILD RELATIONSHIP) If you have multiple variations of the same product (say, in five different colours), you will want these product variations to be grouped together in the same listing. The way this is achieved is by assigning one variation as the Parent listing, and making all the other variations Child listings underneath it.
RATING Any product on Amazon is subject to being rated (out of five stars) by customers. This is largely how customers decide which products to buy.
SEARCH ENGINE OPTIMISATION (SEO) To rank in search results, you need to make sure the most relevant, highly-searched keywords are linked to your listings. This crucial process of SEO improves your products discoverability for customers.
SEARCH VOLUME These figures are estimates about how many times any keyword is searched for on Amazon (per month). This helps project what products might be in high demand, and therefore successful, on Amazon, and what (highly searched) keywords might be good to target for your relevant products.
SEASONALITY Many products have peaks and troughs of search volumes and purchases throughout the year. This describes the way in which some items, like pool inflatables or Christmas tree decorations, will have varying customer interest levels in different seasons.
SELLER CENTRAL This is the back-end of Amazon's website - the base from which Sellers can control and monitor everything to do with their accounts. In Seller Central, you can upload and manage inventory, run advertising campaigns, handle customer communication and much more.
SPONSORED BRANDS These ads are only available to Brand Registry enrolled Sellers. Appearing at the top, side, and bottom of the search results page, these campaigns enable sellers to promote their brand and products.
SPONSORED PRODUCTS These ads are the most popular and common type of Amazon Advertising. A Sponsored Product ads appears above the non-sponsored results on the search results page.
STOREFRONT This refers both to the customer-facing front of Amazon as a whole, but also to brands' individual storefronts, where they can showcase their own products in a sort of mini-website, hosted on Amazon. This latter feature is only available to Brand Registry enrolled Sellers.
SUBSCRIBE AND SAVE This lets Amazon customers sign up for recurring, scheduled deliveries of products that they use frequently. They get a base discount on their deliveries (funded by the Seller). This program is only available to Sellers using FBA.
TACOS (TOTAL AVERAGE COST OF SALE) This is similar to ACOS, but is Total Ad Spend divided by Total Sales (including those achieved organically).
TOP-OF-THE-FUNNEL KEYWORDS These highly competitive, short keywords receive large search volumes. But because they are broad, they pull in a lot of products, and visibility can be difficult.
VAT CALCULATION SERVICE This is Amazon's system for calculating the VAT applied to your products, and providing customers with downloadable VAT invoices. Once this service is set up on your account, customers can receive VAT invoices directly via Amazon, you can enroll in Amazon business to offer VAT-exclusive pricing to business customers, and VAT will no longer be charged on your referral fees or FBA fees.
VINE This is a great program for getting reviews on new listings, by offering some free products to some of Amazon's most trusted customers and reviewers. It is only available to Brand Registry enrolled Sellers, who are using FBA.